- Discover Legazpi
- Plan your Trip
- What To Do
- Media Gallery
The Parish Church of Guinobatan, Albay is dedicated to Our Lady of Assumption. Guinobatan as a parish started as a visita of the Municipality of Camalig in 1672. By 1678, Don Francisco Bagamasbad, Chief of the ‘Tenientes Absolutos’, spearheaded a petition to the Governor-General of the Philippines to elevate the visita into an independent municipality. This effort achieved fruition in 1688 when the request was granted. Rev. Fr. Alfonso de Zafra was the first minister of the Parish of Guinobatan. Soon after, the first Guinobatan church was built.
Through the centuries, the church of Guinobatan often suffered destruction in a series of calamities including the cataclysmic eruptions of Mayon Volcano, strong typhoons and the ravages of the Revolutionary and the Philippine-American Wars. Despite these setbacks, the faithful people of Guinobatan dutifully rebuilt their parish church. Today, the vibrant town of Guinobatan is a first-class municipality. The parish of Guinobatan celebrates its annual fiesta every 15th of August.
Guinobatan Church Belfry | Photo by George Gubat
Hop on one of several jeepneys plying the Guinobatan-Legazpi route.
View Our Lady of Assumption Church, Guinobatan in a larger map
Source: Albay Tourism